Glenn Irwin wins Macau GP


Photo: Facebook/Glenn Irwin

Glenn Irwin is this year’s winner at the Macau GP.

Irwin (pictured) took the race with his Ducati after a red flag on the seventh lap; he was just over a second ahead of Peter Hickman, and Michael Rutter seven seconds back in third, when Dan Hegarty suffered a fatal crash on Fisherman’s Bend.

Hegarty’s name may be familiar to some readers because not only was he an IOMTT competitor since 2011, winning the Isle of Man TT Privateers Champion in 2016, but he was also on Canadian rider Dan Kruger’s team at least year’s Macau race, where he finished 16th. Hegarty was 31 years old.

CMG wishes to extend our sympathy towards Hegarty’s family, teammates, and fellow competitors at this time.

Join the conversation!