MotoGP announces provisional schedule for 2022

Photo: Facebook

We’re still winding down the 2021 MotoGP season, but the bigwigs at Dorna have already released a tentative schedule for the 2022 season.

So far, there are 21 races slated to run over 35 weeks, with racers criss-crossing the globe, including two separate trips to Asia, a run to the Americas, and a visit to Australia.

Most of this year’s schedule is based around familiar tracks like Losail (once again, the season-opening event, on March 6) and Valencia (the season-closer, on November 6). However, MotoGP did insert two new events this season, in Indonesia and Finland.

The Indonesia race at Mandalika International Street Circuit follows Losail, on March 20. It’s still pending homologation, same as Finland’s KymiRing race on July 10, which makes you wonder what exactly the FIM has been doing for the past two years. Surely they could have gotten the paperwork done and the tracks safety certified? MotoGP was actually supposed to race at the KymiRing last summer (canceled due to COVID, replaced by the Styrian GP), so you’d think that circuit would be good to go. Nope, it’s still waiting to be approved.

All the globe-trotting is likely to result in some hiccups for 2022, just as it did in 2021 and 2020, with events canceled due to regional COVID outbreaks, or other coronavirus-related snags. There’s also the possibility of a flap over the visit to Texas next April; when racers went to the Austin GP last weekend, several of the top riders complained about the track’s condition, saying it was too bumpy. Will Circuit of the Americas be able to fix the issues before next season’s race? We’ll find out next April when the riders show up.

Provisional 2022 MotoGP Calendar

Date GP Circuit
March 6 Qatar Losail International Circuit
March 20 Indonesia (subject to homologation) Mandalika International Street Circuit
April 3 República Argentina Termas de Río Hondo
April 10 Americas Circuit of the Americas
April 24 Portugal Algarve International Circuit
May 1 Spain Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto
May 15 France Le Mans
May 29 Italy Autodromo del Mugello
June 5 Catalunya Barcelona – Catalunya
June 19 Germany Sachsenring
June 26 Netherlands TT Circuit Assen
July 10 Finland (subject to homologation) KymiRing
August 7 Great Britain Silverstone
August 21 Austria Red Bull Ring-Spielberg
September 4 San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
September 18 Teruel MotorLand Aragón
September 25 Japan Twin Ring Motegi
October 2 Thailand Chang International Circuit
October 16 Australia Philip Island
October 23 Malaysia Sepang International Circuit
November 6 Comunitat Valenciana Comunitat Valenciana-Ricardo Tormo

Join the conversation!