This weekend, the CSBK finale runs at CTMP


The final races of the 2017 Canadian Superbike season run this weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

This is a double-header round, with two Pro Sport Bike and Pro Superbike races (Saturday and Sunday), as well as two races in the Ninja 300 series and two races in the new Lightweight Sport Bike series. The Amateur Superbike and Sport Bike series also see two races.

Going into the weekend, Jordan Szoke would be the favourite to clinch the Pro Superbike title, as he’s already sitting on a massive lead. Szoke has 266 points to second-place Kenny Riedmann’s 206 points. Ben Young is third with 160 points.

This would be Szoke’s 12th Pro Superbike win since his first in 1998. Szoke’s also still in contention for BMW’s in-house Race Trophy prize.

There are a couple new faces at this weekend’s race who could steal the wins from Szoke, but not the championship. Matt McBride, who rode very well at Shannonville’s round, is back aboard a BMW. Trevor Daley is also back, on a Kawasaki ZX-10, although Daley’s a bit more of a dark horse as he hasn’t ridden a CSBK event yet this year. Mitch Card is also expected to race in the Pro Superbike class for the first time, aboard an R1, but again, he won’t be taking the title out of Szoke’s hands.

In Pro Sport Bike, Tomas Casas leads with 243 points to second-place Mitch Card’s 166 points. Third-place Frank Trombino looked like he might challenge for the title this year, but a huge crash at Atlantic Motorsport Park has derailed that. Trombino’s expected back for Mosport, but he’d have to have a lot of good luck and his opponents a lot of bad luck for a significant upset to occur.

Amateur Superbike is likely going to be a three-way battle between Samuel Desmarais (195 points), Ernest Bernhard (177 points) and Jean-Francois Aubin (157 points). Aubin leads Amateur Sport Bike with 186 points, followed by Desmarais (170 points) and Vincent Levillain (117 points).

In the Ninja 300 series, it’s neck-and-neck between Xavier Paradis (386 points) and Jared Walker (345 points). Jake Leclair is third with 239 points.



Join the conversation!