Ian Hutchinson, then Michael Dunlop, set IOMTT lap record

Photo: IOMTT

The Isle of Man saw new lap records set not once, but three times, during Saturday’s racing at the Superbike TT.

On the first lap, Ian Hutchinson posted a 132.892 mph lap, beating John McGuinness’ record from the 2015 Senior TT. Impressive (it was from a standing start!), but then Michael Dunlop came out with a 133.369 mph lap right behind him. Then, on the second lap, Dunlop posted a 133.393 mph effort.

Dunlop has said he figures a 134 mph lap is possible, and with the all-star lineup at the TT this week, plus ever-advancing superbike technology, we just might see them hit that milestone. Dunlop’s record lap was also the first time a racer lapped under 17 minutes, and there’s still plenty of racing before the TT is over.

Another name looking at a significant milestone is John McGuinness. John McPint earned his 45th podium in the Superbike race, with a third-place, and is closing fast on Joey Dunlop’s 26-win record. McGuinness is at 23. Although he’s been less dominant than in recent years, he’s still a threat to win, particularly in the electric race.


Join the conversation!