Johnny Walker wins Erzbergrodeo – with video!


Photo: Jean-Christophe Dupasquier/Red Bull Content Pool

UK rider Johnny Walker is the winner of the 2014 Erzbergrodeo.

Walker had to work hard to win – the Erzbergrodeo finale takes the top 500 riders of the 1500 invitees to the four-day gathering, and on the last day, pits them against a mad course of mud, water and rocks, in the final event called the Red Bull Hare Scramble. Walker managed the course in a record 98 minutes.

Seppi Fally built up an early lead, but Walker’s closest competitor through the toughest parts was Andreas Lettenbichler, last year’s second-place finisher. Last year’s winner, Graham Jarvis, managed to pass Lettenbichler eventually, though, and ended in second.

All in all I am really happy with second place,” Jarvis said. “My start was poor and I ended up getting bogged down in traffic. On some sections it is impossible to overtake. Finally I was able to get going and start chasing down the leaders.”

Walker thanked his team (KTM) for their part in his win, and said the keys to his victory were training, a good start, and not making a mistake throughout the rally. Hey, it’s not bragging when you’re the guy who set a new record …


Join the conversation!