Kyle Legault wins Canadian speedway series

Kyle Legault Photo:
Kyle Legault Photo:
Kyle Legault Photo:

Kyle Legault took the win in all four races at Niagara Motorcycle Raceway on Saturday night to capture the national speedway championship.

It shouldn’t have come as a surprise; the Welland Tribune says Legault had finished on the podium six times already this year in the Canadian series, with four first-place finishes, and two second-place finishes. And of course, Legault’s taken the championship before, in 2003, 2004 and 2006. He’s also won the Argentinian speedway championship, and raced all over Europe in the speedway leagues over there.

American riders Mike Buman and Jeremy Parsons finished second and third respectively in the overall standings.

Don’t know what speedway racing is? Think flat track racing, except the bikes have no brakes or suspension, and they’re fuelled by alcohol (the motors, not the racers, although that would explain some things) … you can visit the Canadian series’ web page here.

Join the conversation!