Dakar, Day Four: KTM marches on

Marc Coma will not race in the 2013 Dakar rally.
He was last year's overall champion, and Marc Coma is battling hard to keep that title.

KTM riders Marc Coma and Cyril Despres are following a well-established pattern: First, sign up for the Dakar Rally. Then, beat everyone.

After a navigational error on Day Three left Coma finishing second to Despres, the reigning champ took another first place finish yesterday.

Of course, Despres finished second – these two riders have been dominating the rally for the last six years, with both riders winning three titles apiece during that time.

Despres managed to hang on to the overall lead yesterday, in spite of Coma’s win, so it’s still a tight race between the two. The other top five competitors remained the same, but shuffled positions.

It doesn’t hurt that Coma and Despres are on what appears to be the top machine again this year, the KTM 450 Rally. In the overall standings so far, five of the top 10 riders, and 13 of the top 25 riders are on the KTM.

Check out the video below with Day Four’s highlights.

Here are the top five motorcycle riders overall at the end of Stage Four:

1. Cyril Despres (KTM)
2. Marc Coma (KTM)
3. Hélder Rodrigues (Yamaha)
4. Francisco Lopez (Aprilia)
5. David Casteau (Yamaha)

Join the conversation!