MotoGP 2013: The story so far

Jorge Lorenzo, the 2012 MotoGP champion will have Valentino Rossi on board the Yamaha team this season, as Rossi rejoins the team he last saw success with. Photo: MotoGP

The Moto GP grid for 2013 is pretty much set, and other than a couple of new faces isn’t looking much different from the 2012 operation. That’s also true for the bikes: there are six factory rides, six satellite rides, and five CRT teams for a total of 17 entries.
There won’t be much technical change next season, but 2014 is likely to bring a wholesale whack of updates as both Honda and Yamaha look likely to release complete bikes (Honda) or just engines (Yamaha) for sale as opposed to lease – that would certainly mean the end of the Claiming Rule Team (CRT) machinery.

But for now, here’s what we know is going to happen together with the dates each rider’s contract is up, followed by the just-released final calendar.

Honda factory bikes

Repsol Honda
Dani Pedrosa (Spain, returning, 2014)
Marc Marquez (Spain, up from Moto 2, 2014)

Honda satellite bikes
Stefan Bradl (Germany, staying at LCR Honda with more factory support, 2013)
Alvaro Bautista (Spain, staying at Gresini Honda, 2013)


Yamaha Factory Racing
Jorge Lorenzo (Spain, returning, 2014)
Valentino Rossi (Italy, moving from Ducati, 2014)

Tech 3 Yamaha satellite bikes
Cal Crutchlow (U.K., returning, 2013)
Bradley Smith (U.K., up from Moto 2, 2014)


Marlboro Ducati factory
Nicky Hayden (U.S., returning, 2013)
Andrea Dovizioso (Italy, moving from Tech 3 Yamaha, 2014)

Pramac Ducati satellite team
Ben Spies (U.S.A., moving from Yamaha Factory, 2013)
Andrea “Crazy Joe” Iannone (Italy, 2013)

CRT Teams

Colin Edwards (U.S.A., returning to Forward Racing, 2013)
Karel Abraham (Czech Republic, Cardion AB, 2013)
Randy de Puniet (France, Team Aspar, 2013)
Aleix Espargaro (Spain, Team Aspar, 2013)
Hiroshi Aoyama (Japan, Avintia Blusens, 2013)

The final calendar is the same as earlier versions with the exception of dropping the race in Argentina for political reasons (the Argentine government has just nationalized a bunch of Repsol property, and the argument is nasty enough Repsol is reluctant to send any of its team members to the country), and moving the first date in Qatar as a result.

The only new track on the schedule is the Texan Circuit of the Americas, which just held its first race for Formula One cars to rave reviews.

MotoGP 2012 Final Schedule

April 7 – Qatar, Doha/Losail (night race)
April 21 – U.S.A., Circuit of the Americas, Texas
May 5 – Spain, Jerez
May 19 – France, Le Mans
June 2 – Italy, Mugello
June 16 – Catalunya, Catalunya<
June 29 – Netherlands, Assen
July 7 – Germany, Sachsenring
July 21 – U.S.A., Laguna Seca, California (no Moto 2 or 3)
August 18 – U.S.A., Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indiana
August 25 – Czech Republic, Brno
September 1 – U.K., Silverstone
September 15 – San Marino, Circuit Marco Simoncelli Misano
September 29 – Spain, Aragón Motorland
October 13 – Malaysia, Sepang
October 20 – Australia, Phillip Island
October 27 – Japan, Motegi
November 10 – Valencia, Circuit Ricardo Tormo-Valencia

3 thoughts on “MotoGP 2013: The story so far”

Join the conversation!